Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Working at Microsoft

I'm experienced developer (15+ years, C/C++, Java and fully buzzword-compliant :-) ), looking for an architect / project lead position in SF Bay Area. It happened that I can get an interview for Sr. SW Developer at local Microsoft office. The position is a little bit lower than my expectations, but I thought - hey, that's Microsoft... Maybe, it's worth to try it?
Anyone wants to share experiences about working at Microsoft as a developer?

Another question is about their "Program Manager" positions. Companies I worked with didn't have this position. We always had product managers (business side) and project managers (engineering side). What about Progam Manager?  Is it primarily business or engineering position?

Thanks!

raindog
Friday, November 22, 2002

My understanding of the Program Manager position is to define the requirements and "lead the vision".

dmooney
Friday, November 22, 2002

I'm a senior manager at Microsoft that manages developers, testers, and program managers.  My area is in core infrastructure, so my view is probably different than something like Office.

I think of program managers as coming in 3 basic categories

1. Process Managers -- these people make sure that the product ships. Often called "box pm" (because they are responsible for shipping the product == "box").  They predominately create/drive/enforce process such as signoff criteria, triaging bugs, etc.

2. Outward facing PMs -- these are PMs that spend a lot of time talking to customers.  They know and understand the product well enough to talk about it in front of the customers.  They gather feedback and funnel it to the product group. They typically will speak at events like tech ed, and I expect them to be technical enough to write sample code.