Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

bait and switch: what would you do?

Hi,
6 weeks ago I got hired for a project where I was to build a cool statistical mapping/graphing application for some people in an R&D department. My background is more in standard enterprise data management apps, and the main reason I took this job, is because I am trying to move away from enterprise data management apps, into scientific research applications. (please no comments about the financial foolishness of this plan ;-))

Anyway, my interviewers mentioned that I would also need to help out on another app, which is a pretty typical enterprise data management app. 

6 weeks into the job, I am ONLY doing work on the data management app, which has no end in sight.  I pointed out a number of problems with their original design, and proposed some changes that I thought would work better. Big mistake! Now I'm the lead on this thing I don't really want to do. In fact, they are now doing an employee search for someone to work on the charting app that I thought I was being hired for! 

Now, the main reason I took this particular job is because I want to get into cool scientific visualization type work, maybe even go to grad school. I didn't want to work on yet another data management style app. However, the second more important reason I took this job is because I needed a job! I'm happy to be employed, but not particularly happy that I'm working on this particular project, especially when I thought I would be working on something else.