Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

MultiThreading

hi ,
i started learning about multithreading(using java) last week and found it very interesting.
just want to know ur thoughts on multithreading and any good references.it appeared to me like ,multithreaing can only be exploited with multiple processor CPU's.

regards
mrc

MRC
Thursday, November 21, 2002

Mrc,

On a single processor you can still have virtual multithreading, where the processor switches between two tasks.  This is how Windows is apparantly able to have several applications running at once.

For the programmer, multithreading is great for reducing complexity.  Especially when dealing with a graphic user interface.

Take, for example, animated gifs in a web page.  Writing a single process to animate six or seven images on a page would be possible, but the code complex. 

With multithreading you can have a single thread for each image that simply wakes up after a set time and loads the next frame.  About 5 lines in java.

The disadvantage to this is that you increase overhead, which can have a performance cost.

Ged Byrne

See this article at kuro5hin, http://www.kuro5hin.org/story/2002/11/18/22112/860 . I don't necessarily agree with all of it, but it does make some valid points.  The discussions are fairly enlightened at points as well.

Steve Barbour