Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Sabbatical: Your opinion on this.

The motivation for this thought: http://www.joelonsoftware.com/articles/fog0000000076.html

I will be graduating in May ’03 and am looking for employment in the US (I am currently studying in the US ). If I don’t find any by May, I am going back to India (I have an open offer with a Startup to work for them in India).

What I want to do before I start working is travel to different parts of India for some time, see what impact technolgy has/ hasn't had there, etc.

Your opinion on this. While you are at it, if you know any interesting villages/ places/ routes in India – feel free to chip in.

Thanks.

Prakash S
Wednesday, November 20, 2002

hey, you can't call it a "sabbatical" if you haven't yet worked. ;-)

Anyway, yes...this sounds fun. By all means, do it (unless you have to feed your kids or pay back your bookie, or something requiring immediate income).

Be sure make a photo-laden web site about your tour for the rest of us schlubs stuck behind desks, reduced to thinking about the impact technology has made upon our waistlines.

DeskJockey

Don't forget to bring either a good "proper" camera or a high-res digicam with you. You'll want to take loads of pictures on such a trip...

Lennart Fridén

Have you been sending out resumes/interviewing now?

What's been the response been like (for recent grads)?  I hear the "horror stories", but am curious to the opinion of someone going through it right now.

Anyhoo,
I graduated Mid-December 1998 (I had worked as a Co-Op for 6 months, thus pushing my graduation to the end of the Fall semester as opposed to the end of a Spring semester).

I didn't start applying for work until the end of May/ beginning of June 1999.  So, I took about 6 months off (with a trip to Disney World in May...M-I-C...K-E-Y...M-O-U-S-E!).