Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Average Raise after 6 months?

Ok, some background:

I graduated in May with a CS degree.  I started here right after graduation.  This is my first "real" job.  I never interned at the company.  They offered me a decent starting salary (above average for this area).

I just had my 6 month evaluation (standard procedure).  They said they were pleased with my work, said I had management potential, and gave me a raise.

I'm wondering what the average increase for someone in my position would be.  What is the average salary increase after 6 months?

Myron Semack
Sunday, November 17, 2002

Average raise after six months in the places I've worked is roughly $0. Most places I've worked were pretty informal, though, and didn't do performance reviews.

Troy King

You haven't told us what are you doing in first place.

Secondly, I'd say try to gain experience before thinking about raise. Frankly I wouldn't offer high salary for people right out of college cause I am sure they're green and I can't expect much.

Computer science it's not just about text books and the projects you have done in the university. Try to get REAL experience and implement what you've learned. You're way too lucky to put your knowledge to work given this economic climate; it's very risky to hire fresh people out of college these days.

Think long term.

Farid

Let me explain, I didn't ask for the raise.  They gave it to me.  They told me they were impressed with my work, and they gave me what (I think) is a very nice increase.  I'm just wondering if what they gave me was good or not.

Ok, what am I doing?

It's a small embedded systems company (about 30 people, very informal).  I'm the first software person they've hired.  They used to contract out driver and BIOS development.  Now, those things are my responsbility.