Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Outsourcing

My company has a problem: we don't have enough developers to finish the work that we have for the next couple of months.

When looking at possible solutions, I checked out different companies that offers outsourcing.

I have no experience what so ever with outsourcing programming work. Therefore, I would like some advice.

First of all, is outsourcing worth anything? I guess it works for Microsoft, but can anybody else make it work?

What are you suppose to look for in a company offering oursourcing?

What additional work does it give you?

Does anybody have experience with asian programmers, especially chinese? I know everybody else is going for India, but my company has an office in Shanghai, so that would make things easier, I guess.

So, what do you say about? Any advice, thoughts, comments that you would like to share.

Rasmus

Rasmus Grunnet
Saturday, November 16, 2002

Rasmus,

My suggestion is to talk to some of your local clients' (if you have any) and ask if they have any IT consultants they recommend.  I work for a consulting company and that's how we get alot of our business.  Word of mouth.  I would recommend staying local though.  Telecommuting is ok (I work from my home office 75% of the time) but most of the time you'll need some face-to-face time.

Giorgio Galante
Saturday, November 16, 2002

Microsoft doesn't outsource programmers. Just FYI.

Krzysztof
Sunday, November 17, 2002

Steve mcconnel has a very good article about software
outsourcing. Go to http://www.stevemcconnell.com/articles/art07.htm

for more general information on the topic.

Of course you'll need to make sure that the guys doing
the outsourced work have acceptable working experience,
they need to write using your coding conventions, use
your source control system, write decent documentation
for their design etc.

You also need to nail down the requirements to a very
detailed level. Otherwise - you'll need to pay for each