Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Dead wood II

This is a sequel to my previous post about a web site I converted from HTML to XML. I want to get some opinions on how to deal with this, because I foresee more trouble on Monday.
My Perl script did an ok job, I think, of getting the content out of the HTML, but a lot of manual work had to be done anyway. The HTML spanned 5 years and there was no consistency about how it was formatted.
Betsy, a help desk person, was supposed to do the manual work but didn't. My manager argued with Betsy's manager and finally he lost, and I had to do the work, which took about 2 months. I hated every minute of it, but wanted to seem helpful and cooperative.
I have about 7 years of programming experience so I consider myself average, not great (yet). Anyway, I'm concerned that being cooperative and helpful may have lowered my status in this office, and I wonder if it will ever be possible to recover.
The XML web site is live now. The author (in another state) never had much chance to look at it until after it opened, and he has been e-mailing lists of things that need correcting. I have informed everyone that I am only making changes or corrections to the programs, and all clerical work from now on should be directed to Betsy. Of course, since Betsy only spends about 2 hours a week working, almost none of the corrections on his lists have been made.
I don't know what my manager will do. The author will get angry if the corrections aren't made, but it seems that no one has any control over Betsy (she's been there 15 years and has lots of friends). My manager has been even more irritable than usual lately, and maybe this is why. Maybe on Monday he'll ask me to go ahead and do the corrections, rather than keep waiting for Betsy.