Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

UI Books

I'm going to buy a book on useability & UI design, and am looking for recommendations.  I already have About Face which I bought and read some years ago.  I thought that was an interesting but not outstanding book.

I would like a book which has a good practical slant to it (I'm a developer) and plenty of coverage of Web useability issues.  I currently have a shortlist of 3 that I'm considering

- Joel's book "User Interface Design for Programmers",

- "GUI Bloopers: Don'ts and Do's for Software Developers and Web Designers" by Jeff Johnson,

- "Don't Make Me Think: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability" by Steve Krug, Roger Black.

Any impressions of these books, or any other UI books for that matter, would be appreciated.

I would like to support Joel and buy his book but I am concerned it might not have enough depth to it.  I guess I could buy more than 1 UI book but I'm already buying a bunch of other books in this Amazon order, got to draw the line somewhere...

cheers,
Peter

Peter
Saturday, November 16, 2002

Peter,

I bought Joels book, and I have not read any other in-depth book on UI-design. It is good enough for me to pick up the basics of UI-design, and my UI-design has improved.

I have shown the book to some web usability, UI design people who works with UI and Web design professionally, and they have told me pretty much what I expected; Joels book contains no secrets or new things to them. However they said, that if you could bring every coder/tech guy to the level of understanding this book gives the world would be a better place, usability wise.

You do not tell if you are a programmer or other software professional in your post, but I can say this; if you are a programmer with limited UI-design skills Joels book is a good place to start. If you will be doing UI-design as your primary thing you might want to check out other more in-depth books.

Patrik
Saturday, November 16, 2002

Buy Joel's.