Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Mathematics Software and Hardware

I am about to enter University as a pure math major. I have taken high school mathematics.

Of Mathematica, Maple, MatLab, and MathCad:

Which one of these do you recommend?

Would they help with homework/learning math?

Of high end calculators such as the TI-89, and TI-92 (i.e. ability to perform symbolic manipulation for example):

Which one do you recommend?

Again, would they help with homework/learning math?

I'm also looking for related anecdotes and advice.

Thanks so much!

Matt
Friday, November 15, 2002

i prefer the reverse polish notation of a hewlett packard - the 48GX was top of the line in my day.

nathan

You want one of the TI 8x series. The 92 is too big.

You also want mathematica.  I would start using Mathematica right away. It really helped me out. (I have a math degree)

Will C

If you stick with math, you will probably end up using all three programs at some point in your college career, so there's really not much point to selecting just one to learn. If you want something for practice, get the cheapest one.

For the calculator question, you might end up taking a class that requires a particular model, so inquire at your college before spending the money.

I still have, and occasionally use, the TI-89 we were required to buy for whatever class it was.

Martha

Sorry, you listed four programs... I've never used Maple, so my brain just sort of skipped right over it.

We used Matlab for quite a few classes, Mathematica only for statistics. But this was almost 10 years ago.

Martha

I would go with the HP-48 GX.  It took a while to get used to (about a week for me), but after that I found it to be much easier to use.

I would not get a TI-92 if you actually want to learn math.  It is to easy to just learn how to program the calculator to do the math for you.  You'll do well in the class grade wise but probably will not learn as much.

Adam