Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Slow Testers - What do I do?

I am a software developer, and I am currently developing an application for a major bank. It is almost complete.
In the early days when I was developing the requirements and then developing, testing the software etc, everything was hunky dory. The problem I have now is that when I release a new version of the software for testing it can sometimes take the testers weeks before they respond with any issues. The software contains detailed financial calculations and in fact the test team consists of three actuaries. All of who are busy, and I'm not in a position to tell them to hurry up, although I do frequently ask.
The problem I have is that this down time is extremely boring, and I tend to goof off. The problem being that I get paid by the hour. So my weekly earnings are reduced.
Theres only so much research into new technologies, web surfing etc that one can do! My boss has started to encourage me to stay home when theres nothing to do, which is OK for her, but I dont get paid. Does anybody have any ideas as to how I can negotiate this period so that I don't end up "doing time" merely so that I get paid?
I still have 2 months of my contract to go, and who knows, these actuary guys are so slow that they probably wont have even finished then.

Tony
Thursday, December 20, 2001

There are several possibilities. If slow testers' performance is acceptable by the management

then you can
* Release smaller modules for testing
* Look for another parallel project
* Renegotiate your contract
* Perform the testing by yourself (generally wrong approach, but...) and get paid for it.

else
* Draw everyone's attention to the situation
* Other ?

Ilia Bromberg
Thursday, December 20, 2001

Tony -- need more information:

1. Are the testers the actual customers, or are they workers hired through the same consulting firm you work for?