Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Revenue

Joel, how much revenue has Fog Creek brought in this year?

Carl Sagan
Friday, November 08, 2002

The answer to that question is meaningless without also having the answer to "What were FogCreek's total overhead expenses this year?"

Bella

maybe Carl is not interested in expenses, et. all :-)

Prakash S

Still, it's a rude question. Fogcreek is not publicly listed.

Alberto

I fail to see how it's rude. I'm not interested in if they're profitable or not, I'm interested in seeing how successful the company has been in selling products.

Carl Sagan
Saturday, November 09, 2002

I'm no expert but to some people the question might seem the equivalent of asking, "Joel, what was your income last year?"  The company is private and probably mostly owned by Joel.  That may be a reason why the question appears rude to some people even though you are not interested in Joel's income but the profitability of running a software company.

I think people will know you meant no harm and understand your curiosity about the profitability of running a company that is small yet smart and innovative.

Diego

*the profitability of running a software company.*

Sorry, Sagan.  I meant:

I think people will understand that you want to know how successful Fogcreek has been in selling their products, not about profitability.  Sorry...  i seem to confuse success with profitability which is wrong depending on the case.

Diego

Not all companies view it as rude.  I've worked for private companies that boasted about their revenue.  Still, it deserves a little more tact than blurting out a request on a message board.

Do you really expect Joel to share this with you? speaking of naiveity

Farid