Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Object Caching in VB

I'm new to Visual Basic 6 and I'm trying to implement a pretty basic OO design pattern...

I want to create an object cache for a web application, but under the schema i'm familiar with, I'd like to have an ObjectController of some sort that would be accessed by the application and would return cached instances of data objects relevant for display (in the past, i've done this using Factory design patterns in Java)...  So all i have is a wrox book and the web, but I can't find anything on instantiating static objects, nor can i find any information about holding references to objects in ASP.  I assume this is possible, but I could use some help!

Anyone have any design suggestions or implementation resources i could refer to?  how would one implement this in VB6?

rubyone
Friday, November 08, 2002

I haven't worked with ASP in a few years, but I believe there's a way to store objects on the session or application objects available in the ASP page (session/appliaction attributes in jsp). I believe VB has an associative array data structure (collection?) that you can use to store the cached instances. That's the basic idea, someone with better VB knowledge can fill in the exact class names.

BTW, is your app only going to run on one machine? You may be asking for trouble if you need to maintain cache coherency across multiple machines.

igor

I write standalone applications but maybe this will help.

This is done all in VB6 SP5.

I have a need to maintain and add different file types. It is done in the following way with ActiveX DLLs.

Interface DLL
-----------------
Specify the interface of the following
IFileType
IFileFactory  (has one method Organize which accepts
                    one Parameter.
                    aFileTypeList as FileTypeList
FileTypeList (a strongly typed collection class of IFileType)

Application DLL
-----------------