Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Visual Basic For Testers

Joel seems to recommend this.  Has anyone bought it?

I'm a VC++ programmer with a VB background.  Would it be possible to use the framework set out in the book, extend it, and write a freeware-ish test automation tool that actually had value?

Then, when the issue of qualifications comes up, and I don't know WinRunner or LoadRunner or Mercury or whatever, I could reply "No, but I WROTE MY OWN QA auotmation tool, you can download it at blah-blah-blah, so I don't think picking up Rational Visual Test would be that hard ..." :-)

For those who have read the book, is this a possibility?

thanks,

Matt H.
Thursday, November 07, 2002

For the kind of time investment you're talking about, wouldn't it be worth heading to the nearest Buns & Noble to spend half an hour browsing through the pages?

anonymous

Matt -

I think I'm missing some context in your comments, as you seem to refer back to something.

However, you hit upon a real problem for us in the QA/QC field. Nobody's going to spend the thousands it costs to buy a copy of the leading automated testing tools to have at home so they can use them and gain experience. So, unless your company owns them and you get to use them regularly at work, you're pretty much screwed. If you don't have experience with them, then it often becomes a hiring  issue with companies already owning the tools.