Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Easiest & Cheapest way to write Win9x app?

I'm a graduate student in Optics, and in the course of my research, I've written a custom ray-tracing program. It is a DOS / command-line program, written in ANSI C, using MS Visual C++ 5.0.

I would like to (easily) give it a facelift, if possible. My vision of the ideal programming environment for this harkens back to InterfaceBuilder, on the NeXT: drag-and-drop GUI construction. Quickly made windows; easy stuff done without writing pages of calls to arcane GUI APIs.

So, what is the simplest and cheapest way to craft a Windows app? I'd like to be able to link in my C-code, rather than rewrite it in e.g. VB. I can get Visual Basic, C, or whatever, affordably. (Student pricing for "learning" edition of VB is $50). I see Delphi mentioned, but know nothing about it.

Any recommendations for a weary, stressed Ph.D. candidate, who just wants to spiff up a program for future resume-fodder, is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

dave f

David Fischer
Wednesday, December 19, 2001

Get yourself a bright undergraduate work-study student.  We used to have loads of 'em in the lab.  They would do antything in exchange for a good recommendation to graduate school or medical school.  Get a CS major, and delegate the task to him/her.

Caveat emptor

Take yourself along to Borland and download Delphi personal.  It's a hefty download, but well worth it.

http://www.borland.co.uk/delphi/personal/del6personal_keyanddown_steps.html

If you would like to keep Deplhi's Drag and Drop GUI creation and great object library, but still use C++ then try C++ builder:

http://www.borland.co.uk/bcppbuilder/

Ged Byrne

I would say get C++Builder from Borland if you really want to use C(++). It gives you the ease of Delphi UI creation and the ability to program in your favourite language.