Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

PM Tries to do The Right Thing

A bit of advice please. I'm a project manager, with about 5 years experience of managing mostly web-based software projects.

I'm from a non-technical (general management) background, and while i think i have a good grasp of technical issues, i have decided that i really need to learn to program to fully understand the problems that my team encounter. Most of my projects use ASP/SQL, with movement towards the .Net platform. We also do some stuff in straight Vb and C++.

I've put together an ASP site myself, but feel that i've learned little more than copy-and-paste skills.

What i'd like, is some recommendations as to 1) what books you recommend to enable me to learn to program -- something that is hands-on and practical hopefully - and 2) how important is the choice of language that i choose to learn. For example, i've been working through the excellent OpenCourseWare lectures on the MIT website -
http://ocw.mit.edu/6/6.170/f01/index.html - but i'm not sure if Java is the best choice for me to learn: although .Net is moving towards OO, i wonder if the differences with the majority of the 'MS' languages will make learning it less useful.

Don't tell my team.
Tuesday, November 05, 2002

Learning to program - what works for Sosay

- have a real life task.

Don't complete lots of small academic excersises.  Think of a small project that would actually be useful, design and build it. 

This will force you to over-come many small real life
problems and hassles that the text books deliberately avoid, considering them trivial details.

Even if you have no idea how to begin "I want to build a web based diary with ASP" is 400% more advanced a stage to be at than "I want to learn ASP". 

- have a real life teacher.

I personally learned more about programming in a couple of weeks of instruction from a good programmer than in 6 months of reading and playing by myself with many books.