Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Filemaker And coworkers

Im a college teacher. We have been planning to build a little intranet for our staff for a while and since im the guy with the datamodelling/web app skills i've been put in charge of the project.
The primary focus of the app will be an inventory database where all our hardware and software is registred. Simple stuff.
The next thing is to tie the inventory to the scheduling so that the tech support can easily find out when and where certiain hardware and software needs be installed.
No problemo so far. I could do this in less than a week with ASP or JSP. Approx. 30 ppl will use it.

People around me are pushing Filemaker, praising its ease of use etc. One of the tech support guys in particular, is talking about how he could set up the inventory thing in a matter of hours.
And to be honest I am a bit afraid that he will do just that and devote a load of time in to putting all the data into the database, with a datamodell I cant expand upon. And it feels a bit like he is invading my territorry. Yet I dont want to hurt his feelings either... Thoughts?

And in any case, would filemaker be a good tool for this kind of job?

Eric DeBois
Friday, November 01, 2002

You likely don't want to use Filemaker with something 30 people are going to be using.  If you're going to be going above 2 or 3 users then you need to get FileMaker Server.  And Filemaker Server isn't intended to go above 10 or 20 users, if I recall, per Filemaker's own documentation.

Also, Filemaker isn't an SQL database, so you're right that it's not expandable at all.

I would say that it's probably a good job to use MS Access for.  If your tech support guy is savvy, he could build it just about as quickly in Access as in Filemaker, and you'd also be able to program against the database in your web pages if you wanted.