Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Quality of Professors / Graduate Students

Without egotism, let me put forth that I am an above average software engineer. Or at least I am good enough to be paid six figures after round after round of layoffs in *this* economy.  I claim no more than being above average.

Anyway, 49% of software engineers are in the same category as I - above average.  Have any of you gone back to grad school?  Have any of you been subjected to professors (and/or graduate students) with an obvious lack of practical technical skills or ability?

I find it utterly fascinating that people who have never actually produced an enterprise software solution are in charge of instructing and rating our future developers!

Quite literally, these deficients often distribute code with their homegrown linked lists, trees & hash tables.  (Mind you, they are not distributing code with sophisticated, cutting-edge algorithms - just run-of-the-mill, amateurish data structures that are mostly less efficient than STL templates.)

Have you ever been graded by an idiot who just can't grasp SQL, but who somehow passed a graduate level Database course, and is now "knowledgeable" enough to grade a professional data modeler?

I believe this is a serious problem.  Maybe this problem has been around for decades!  (Are there any mechanical, electrical, chemical. etc. engineers who have experienced the same thing?) 

Any thoughts anyone?

Anon for Obvious Reasons
Wednesday, October 30, 2002

Your first mistake is thinking that graduate school is the appropriate place for developing "practical technical skills."  It's not.  I hope you weren't banking on that.

Your second mistake, I'm assuming, is assuming that one graduate program is a lot like the next.  Graduate programs are *vastly* different between schools in what is taught, how it is taught, who teaches it, and how well it is taught.  I hope you researched your decision carefully.