Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Google Algorithms

Apart from this site I also post a lot on an English as a Foreign Language employment forum (I'm an EFL teacher and recruiting other EFL teachers is part of my job).

There is one thread there about opportunities for English teachers at Qatar Aeronautical College. www.eslcafe.com/jd2/index.cgi?read=114589 Suddenly the EFL forum is getting posts from Arabs asking about flying lessons.

Intrigued I typed into Google the two words "Aeronautical College" and found that one of the posts about English teacher came up THIRD out of 88,000.

The reason I presume is the large number of links on the page with the words Aeronautical  College.

Google has obvioulsy fouled up big time here but what I find interesting is what this tells us about the way their algorithm works. It does appear to me that there might be a possiblity to actually enigineer top hits on Google (at least for a couple of days).  As you guys are the ones that know the math, perhaps you could have a try at it. Just send me a few percent of the millions you make :)

Stephen Jones
Wednesday, October 30, 2002

It's called GoogleBombing I believe. It's been known about for a month or so already I believe.

Chris Tavares

A month? Buddy it's a lot older than that:

http://www.microcontentnews.com/articles/googlebombs.htm

Rikard

Rikard Linde

I run an academic web page that has a guestbook, and I discovered that people will try to use the guestbook (specifically its space to enter a URL) to boost their Google page rank.  Maybe it's common knowledge that guestbooks are used in this way, but I've never heard it discussed.

Several people have entered their name on my guestbook, along with URLs to sites that seemed suspiciously unrelated to the subject of my own website.  One was somebody associated with a site concerning "Axis Deer."

So I did a Google search on that URL, and turned up hundreds of guestbooks those people have signed: