Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Joel on Software

Hey,

I just spent about 4 hours reading your "column" and was very impressed with your writing ability and the concise way that you present ideas.  I am no programmer, tho I have friends who are.  I am only researching software to create a website for an upcoming business.  I have been studying html for about one week now and am getting the hang of it.  I will surely revisit your articles on UI design.  Thank you and good luck on your future endevors.  Who knows, maybe I will become a programmer!!

Regards,

Glenn

"Happiness is important"

Glenn B. Guilford
Tuesday, October 22, 2002

Happiness IS important.

But Glenn, I do hope you have been studying HTML only because you have no programmer ready to take on the job, and that you have already mastered all the essential skills to design a website.
Because programming in HTML is only accidental, you know that right? It's only the contemporary means to get you where you want to go, and determining where you want to go is the whole point, right?

Erik
Wednesday, October 23, 2002

Yes, you're right there.  I know where I want to go, and am studying how others have used HTML and the Web to reach/serve their customers.  And no, I have no programmer.

Glenn B. Guilford

Advice: Get a programmer.

Building a functional website is vastly more complicated than it used to be. Unless you are planning on building a simple brochure-style site, with no interactivity, you'll find that knowledge of a web scripting language (asp, php, jsp, whatever) will be invaluable (side note: why do invaluable and valuable mean the same thing?)

Traditional HTML websites are becomming a much smaller percentage of the commercial internet world. For the most part, people want to come to your website and _do_ something.

More Advice: Get a graphic designer.