Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

User interfaces

Hi.
I'm a student in Iceland and we are creating a Tourism Virtual World of our home town.
I was wondering what you could tell me about user interfaces. What is good and what is not? Do you know of any good websites that discuss such matters? Also if you know of any Virtual Reality websites then that would be well appreciated :)
Thanks.

Groa Vilbergsdottir
Tuesday, October 22, 2002

http://www.joelonsoftware.com/uibook/chapters/fog0000000057.html

is a good book to start off on UI.

Prakash S

I suggest reading this book:

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0789723107/

J. D. Trollinger

I received my UI Design for programmers yesterday actually ( as well as Peopleware) and was somewhat miffed at the size or lack thereof.  Having read the first six chapters last night... BUY IT!  worth every penny!

Brad Siemens

To start with Joel's book, accessible for free on ths site (first nine chapters only).

Next "The Lunatics are Running the Asylum" by Alan Cooper - about a lot more than user interface but you need the basic idea.

As you're designing a web site much of what books on UI design do won't apply, but you definitely need to think of ideas such as "affordance" and task based user interfaces.

The next thing to do is to go around a lot of web sites doing the same thing (remember to access them all with a 28.8kbs modem to get the experience that a user in an internet cafe will get), and see which things you like.

Remember to get your text to load first and have low resolution (or better still cartoons) of all your photos to come first.

And make another mock up of an all bells-and-whistles site (copying from the web) so when your customer/manager/tutor/classmates asks for something "cooler", a "richer experience*, you can give him it, and then give him it again over the modem connection. He'll normally have changed his mind before the flash animation is anywhere near downloading.