Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

First Programming Language

I'm fairly new to programming and was wondering which would be the best programming language for starters.  I looked at Python which seems pretty impressive, easy and fast. VB looks decent to but it seems a lot more complicated.

All suggestions are very much appreciated.

Rock
Friday, December 14, 2001

We had a bit of discussion on this a few weeks ago:

[ http://discuss.fogcreek.com/joelonsoftware/default.asp?cmd=show&ixPost=1289 ]

Alyosha`

I would strongly reccomend VB, provided that you make an effort to learn good programming practices at the same time, and that you make an effort to learn what's happening behind the scenes.

Jeff Paulsen

The actual language you write something in is almost always to do with the environment, the audience or the presentation of the final product.

There are very few classes of problems and solutions that are affected by the actual language they are implemented in.  There are exceptions of course, Lisp, Smalltalk, MUMPS, RPG and so on, but for the most part most of the languages commercially used have in process terms the same kind of grammar.

Script languages such as Perl and Python look very different but they are similar enough to other block structured languages to be able to pick up straightforwardly.

If you can express your algorithm/design in something more generalised than a specific language in the beginning it will be all the easier to decide on the right language for that implementation, given all the other criteria, environment, audience and presentation.

Your real question then might rather be, "What Language/IDE can I most easily create the kind of software I want to create" 

So the first question for yourself is "What kind of software do I want to create?"

This is known as the 'Irish Answer', as in your man being asked directions to Dublin saying, 'Well if it was me I would not be starting from here'.

Simon Lucy