Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Designing, can it be learned by programmers??

Just wondering, I am a VB / ASP programmer. I am not claiming to be very good but I seem to get most task done with some satisfaction and skill. But when it comes to designing, I am producing crap..and one customer did say it to me face recently.

After a lot of thinking, I asked a design student to change the design for me and he came up with a brilliant sample in like an hour. And I spend three days to produce garbage.

Since programmers are logical and analytical by nature, can they design as well. I mean not simple designs but really cool ones. Do you guys do the designing part yourself and only do programming or what???

Thanks

suhu
Saturday, October 12, 2002

This question is the same as saying
"Massage, can it be learned by physiotherapists??"
OR
"Car Mechanics, can it be learned by engineers??"
OR
"Painting, can it be learned by sculptors??"
OR
"Gardening, can it be learned by farmers??"

It's pointless, maybe you are just a really, really bad designer.

Why am I even bothering?

Unless you're not intelligent and can't learn new things... I don't see why you should have a problem. If you put the same amount of time, effort, and resources into learning design, then it's a no-brainer, you can become good. But is that what you really want to focus on? Don't try to be everything to everyone. Focus on what you like doing, and do it well.

Carl Sagan

I think it is in your interest to at least become a reasonable designer. Becoming great requires lots of work like everything, but becoming reasonable just requires learning a few rules and fooling around with them a bit. Learning what not to do won't make it great, but it will certainly allow you to avoid crap.

The list is fairly long, but they fit into a few themes: