Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Volunteer Programming

I’m an out of work programmer.  I spend about 1 to 2 hours a day looking for work, but I have a lot of free time.  I want to do some charity work as a programmer.  Does anyone know of an organization that would match programmers with charities who need programs written?

Dan P
Sunday, October 06, 2002

Look at www.sourceforge.net maybe you will find an open source project that might interest you.

Anonymous
Sunday, October 06, 2002

try rentacoder dude!

http://www.rentacoder.com

Prakash S
Sunday, October 06, 2002

RentaCoder looks more like EnslaveACoder.

Simon P. Lucy
Monday, October 07, 2002

NetAid have an online volunteering scheme, which includes computer stuff http://www.netaid.org/ov

Better though is to get out the house in your local area, and find an organisation that needs your help. There should be a volunteer bureau in your nearest large town who can help you find work, even small organisations can need help coding things like databases. I find I'm quite happy just installing computers and helping people to use them.

I'd love to find a good clearing house for specifically programming, but don't know anything.  Non-profit Open Source Initiative could do it, you should check them out anyway http://www.nosi.net/

Francis Irving
Monday, October 07, 2002

I'll play Devil's Advocate, but I think 1-2 hours a day is not enough if you really want to get re-employed... especially if you are planning on moving a rung up the ladder in your next job.

True, working on a volunteer programming project can add to your network of contacts, but looking for a job is a fulltime activity.

Spend the extra time refactoring your CV (or resume), and selling yourself.

if you do take on a volunteer project, I would pick something that allows you break new ground, and add to your marketability. If you have been a coder all your life, go out and teach programming to kids, go out and MANAGE a project .... ...

tapiwa