Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Ending a Contract

I have been developing some software VB/SQL Server
for a financial institution for the last 7 months,
basically I have been a one man show doing the initial scoping, requirements, design,
coding, deployment, project management etc with the end result that the project is in the final stages
of UAT with complete satisfaction from the business users, the 'go live' date for the software
is 01 Oct 2002. The project has progressed closely to plan, initially I was contracted for 6 months
but I had a 2 week break and there was a little bit of slippage so my contract was extended another week
for one month until the final week of Sept, ending Fri 27th. Everybody is so happy that my contract is not being renewed as I have 'finished'.

Here's my 'beef'.
I have handed over the project to the permanent staff members (I am a contractor) and next week they are demonstrating the software to senior management
around the country (it's a junket), everybodies happy as the software is a winner and the IT department I am working for don't have too many systems in this category.

Even management are going on the junket  to bask in the glory of my work.

My complaint is that I am missing out on all the 'glory' and back patting that I so richly richly deserve. All my hard work and sweat is travelling around the country without me there to warmly receive the much deserved accolades.

Woe is me.

As this is only my 2nd contract I am wondering if this is normal, in my 1st contract I worked until the project was 100% completed, installed and hung around in hand-holding mode until the business was Ok to go it alone.

Should I take it on the chin, or should I be miffed?

Miffed
Wednesday, September 25, 2002

You do the work for them that you contracted to perform.

They pay you the amount that they contracted to pay.

End of Story.

Peter WA Wood

Too true. Just keep it in mind when the next project tanks and they try dump it on you :-)