Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

VB in a big project

Hi,

I will change company soon. I have to "prospect" one with a big system written in VB.
Is it possible to have that without big troubles ?

.. !! ..
Sunday, September 22, 2002

It all depends on the quality of the programmers who built it. Our two products were built by C++ programmers using VBscript and VB, respectively, and they have some of the cleanest code I've ever worked with.

But many VB projects are created by people with no skills in OO design, possibly not even computer science training, and they're just "buckets of forms." Once they grow beyond a couple of developer-years they become nightmares.

Joel Spolsky

joel

I'm curious, why VB?

Not that there's anything wrong with that!

Brad Siemens

Just for some perspective, I am currently making my living off a 'Buckets of Forms' project that I have been developing for 3 1/2 years.  No formal education or training.

Brad Siemens

http://www.joelonsoftware.com/articles/fog0000000006.html

Not that there's anything wrong with that.

Art Vandelay

AHHH!  Thanks for the pointer!

Brad Siemens

A couple, three months from now I will have to take a (plant layout, PLC) module I wrote in VB using the most elementary methods (picture boxes inside picture boxes).  It works extremely well for a fast and dirty but I was wondering what all you smart people (yeah, I'm being insecure LOL) would suggest that wouldn't be too far over my head and wouldn't limit me.  I'm thinking something along the lines of the a scaled down version of the old Generic CADD (General CADD now I believe).  Should I hire the brains?  I really want to take a bash at it but...  Any thoughts?

Brad Siemens

Go for it, see what happens.

Course, big projects can suck you dry (spit). Rob you of months of precious life and leave you stressed out and jittery with nothing but a little pile of trashy code that doesn't do jack.