Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

.NET vs. Web Standards

Here are my (brief) thoughts. What are yours?

http://www.xyncro.com/opinion07092002.html

Andrew Cherry
Saturday, September 07, 2002

Hey Andrew,

I'm not trying to knock you, but I'm wondering if you do web development? I know if you come from a good programming enviroment the mess html is in can be a bit of a shock, thats what I'm thinking...?

Things work differently in different environments, that is just the reality of today. Different pages for different browsers, versions, os's and devices are very common. One of your biggest headaches as a web developer is to know the bugs and limitations of each. But even without bugs, you end up doing things differently.

Dreamweaver (what I use) will also will target different browsers if that helps...

Robin Debreuil

I do come from a web development background - originally ColdFusion, as well as some JSP stuff. I'm also a CS Grad, so i've seen programming both structured and unstructerd in various places.

My point is not really about the "state" of the code, i'm quite used to that with almost all large web systems, merely that it seems Microsoft is once again ignoring web standards - and noit ebing too upfront about it either!

Andrew Cherry

Oh - and i'm a Dreamweaver MX user too - which has made big strides forward...

it's just the fact that the ethos seems so wrong, if you agree with the direction that people like WaSP and the w3c advocate...

Andrew Cherry

Andrew, having not worked with .NET I tend to agree with your sentiments. I remember sitting in a .NET seminar and having the speaker explain how .NET detected the client's browser and generated the appropriate code. I almost jumped in my chair and "shot the messenger".

I've got my hands dirty with a lot of front-end web issues and I really don't have a great deal of faith in the .NET solution - it seems to be trying to deal with the problem from the wrong perspective.