Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Does my website suck?  A bit off-topic.

Actually, I'm not sure if it's off-topic or not, but I know this board attracts lots of smart techies.  Maybe some of you could take a look at my beta-release website and tell me what you think:

http://www.johnson95.com/

I'm not a programmer.  Here's your chance to tell an MBA that he's an idiot (dumb MBAs were responsible for the downfall of the New Economy, right?)

Alex Chernavsky
Wednesday, December 05, 2001

It looks OK to me. Design wise it is miles better than my site, and I am a programmer. The skills needed to create a nice website are different from the ability to program, so you have nothing to worry about.

Jonathan Naylor

I think its lacking in consistancy: the homepage looks nice and clean, nothing two fancy, but when you click on one of the links your treated to an entirely different layout, with different navigation, and even a different logo (the thing in red).  I would try to make the sub pages look a little more similar to the homepage, as I had to do a double take to make sure I was still on the correct site.  Hope this helps!

Vincent Marquez

The fround page is excellent.  Clean and consistant.

I especially like the concentric circle motif.

However, the 2nd level pages do not reach the same standard.

The circle motif, navigation method and logo have all changed.

The futuristic font for 'Back' clashes badly with the classical script used for the title.

Only the student page has a back link at the top of the page.

Where the horizontal and vertical rules overlap there is a white outline.  Was this intentional?

The 'Home > Second level' style of navigation suites large hierarchal sites, but not a small site like this.  I think it would be better to be able to navigate between 2nd level pages without returning home.

It looks to me like the layout of the secondary pages mimics layout of a book.  Is this the case?

Ged Byrne
Thursday, December 06, 2001