Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

How does support fit into business model?

I'm a solo programmer developing a shrink wrap database app.  There are a number of competitors to the application I'm developing, but they mostly divide themselves into two camps:  (1)  Applications that are generally of good quality (though some are crap), which cost from $2k to $15k;  and (2) applications that are generally of low functionality and low quality, but which sell for $500 to $2k. 

I'm confident that I can develop an app that's comparable in quality to programs from the more expensive group, with perhaps a bit less functionality, but I should be able to sell it for the price of the less expensive group.  The ability to do this comes from the economics of developing things as a solo-developer: low overhead, high efficiency of development so long as program isn't overwhelmingly complicated, etc.  I think I'll be able to sell quite a few of these things based on the business idea of providing a better, more professional product  than comparably priced programs,  and by undercutting the better apps on price.

My main question/concern is regarding support for the program once the users have bought it.  Most all of the competitors -- of both price classes -- provide unlimited support for between $500/yr to $1,000 year, even for networked versions with multiple users.  I'm trying to figure out how support fits into the business model. 

I'm assuming support should be a source of profit, but I also have nightmare visions of hundreds of users calling every day to get help on how to put together a simple query, design a new report, or lots of other things that are even simpler.  Does this just not happen (assuming the program is well-designed and has good documentation)?  Or does support sometimes end up being a loss-leader?