Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

ACM membership worthwhile?

I'm about to purchase the costly $200 professional ACM membership.  People always bring stuff up from the CACM journal.  If you're a member, do you have pretty good experiences?  Any weird caveats?

BTW, it looks like their shoppingcart software is pretty antiquated.  Since they want me to have a degree or IT experience, I'm worried they'll want to "process" my CC for a week if I use a yahoo email account to join.

ycm
Tuesday, September 03, 2002

I was a student member for a year, and I didn't feel like renewing for this year. The publication you mention is so-so.

I joined the IEEE Computer Society a few weeks ago, and it's much more worthwhile than the ACM, IMHO. The site is more well organized, and you get to enter into a virtual campus also.

Regards,
Ivan V.

Ivan V.

I rarely find anything useful in the ACM,
and dropped membership.

If other people are bringing stuff up from
the ACM that means someone else in your org
has membership - so just get them to
download the relevant articles.
I can't see any benefits of the ACM apart from the libraries and journals.

Incidentally I love the bit on the certificate saying that I have fulfilled the professional requirements for membership of the ACM. The professional requirements appear to be that I have paid them $200.

David Clayworth

Thanks for the warnings, I'm pretty cooled off on the idea now of joining these orgs.  I'll visit a uni library and look at IEEE journals to see if I want to join them.

ycm

I won't be renewing my ACM membership either.

I've been planning on checking out the IEEE though.

semi

Here are my 0.002 (or less) worth as an student member of boh ACM and IEE / Computer society, for over a year in the case of IEEE and almost a year on the ACM.