Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

What seperates Good developers from all the rest

I've been in the software industry for three years, and I’m currently studying computer science at a local college.  I've heard that education and experience = good job, but there has to be more to it than that—I continually hear that there is a lack of talent in the field, and in my job I constantly deal with clueless developers.  What do I have to do/what traits do must I posses to become an outstanding developer?  What will determine which of the thousands of CS majors graduating each year get the good jobs?

Vincent Marquez
Wednesday, December 05, 2001

Education and experience ARE very important: the first teaches you what can be done,  the other teaches you what ought not be done.  And by "education" I don't mean "gone to college", and by "experience" I don't mean "worked in the field", because it's easy just to get by without learning (as an example: I'd be willing to bet that half of my CE graduating class couldn't write a bubble sort in any language).  The ability to *learn* is what's most important.

But the thing you've really overlooked is just plain aptitude: specifically, the ability to think things through, to be thorough and suspend judgement until everything is in.  I notice that poor developers tend to latch on to the first idea that could possibly work, and then come back a week later and say, "oh yeah, but I forgot about this, and that, and that".  Poor developers generally don't know what they don't know.  Good developers are like this too -- it's impossible to be perfect -- but they do it to a far less extent.

Alyosha`

Keep in mind that programming well for the corporate world is different from... the other world.  I program for the corporate world, and it's really about creating code and moving on.  Totally different sort of game.