Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Apple Development Support Really Is BAD

"Apple has spent decades making life miserable for their developers." -- Joel

I am a Mac developer and want to say AMEN TO THAT JOEL!!!

Apple are such bastards in this regard. They must sit around for hours trying to figure how to ream developers in the most sadistic way possible.

Apple - 2.5% of the market share!
OK, as a hardware vendor they are comparable to gateway in size and can stay in business.

But the situation is DIFFERENT for the poor deluded dipsh*ts such as myself who develop for this miserable pathetic platform.

The other 97.5% of the market is THIRTY-NINE TIMES BIGGER.

What it really boils down to is you have to sell a $100 program for $3900 to justify its development, or you have to  have 39 times fewer competitors and the same % of customers in order to recoup your development expenses *IF* (big if) your cost of development is the same.

But its not.

I have developed for both platforms and I will say witnhout a doubt that Microsoft's developer tools are not only better than Apple's but at least 10 times and perhaps 50 times better.

An application that takes a year to write on the Mac I can write on the PC in 5 weeks.

Apple's documentation is among the worst I have seen. Inaccurate and they refuse to document their bugs. This is a huge difference. I hate asses like Jobs who coverup their problems with denials and acting like they are perfect. MS does not act like they are perfect. They document their bugs and provide workarounds in a nice easily accesible database which they provide at a nominal cost.

I hate Apple and I love Bill Gates.

There. I said it.

anonymous this time
Friday, August 30, 2002

I agree with you. I am a WebObjects developer and their documentation sucks.

Mike S.
Friday, August 30, 2002