Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

J2EE, .NET - what was before ?

Hi,

I'm a relatively young developer (25) witnessing the rise of the server-side
enterprise technologies like J2EE and .NET which makes me wondering how world
existed before those frameworks were developed ? I mean, there *were* enterprise
applications long before Java and .NET - how were they build ? Using what language ?

Thank you !

Evgeny Goldin
Thursday, August 29, 2002

The problem has never been the language, but rather the services you had available, i.e., how much functionality does the system provide "out of the box", and how much must you build from scratch. In ohter words, what kind of foundation do you have.

What J2EE provides is a unified set of services, presented with standard interfaces, for your use. This means there's a lot of "plumbing" that you don't have to build yourself. I suppose the asme thing is true for .NET.

AFAIK, before J2EE you had Corba and that ever-evolving thing that one day was called DCOM, the next day was COM+, etc.

Before this, I don't really know. I guess you had sockets and aCembler. Or aCembler++ :)

-----
Suravye ninto manshima taishite ("Peace favor your sword")
Paulo Caetano

Paulo Caetano

I think most were bulit using Perl or plain old C and CGI. Its still a valid aproach.

Eric DeBois

Ok - Here's a question - how does an "enterprise application" differ from an regular old-fashioned application?

The guy above hinted that "Enterprise Applications" are really just web services (Perl/CGI or .Net or J2EE), which is kinda reinforced by the guy that talked about sockets programming.

But that's not what enterprise apps really are.  I would hope most folks would agree that Amazon.com is not an "enterprise app", it's a commercial app or consumer app. ( "Residential App?")