Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Software Rights, Responsabilities

I want to ask something that i really doesn't know can affect this in usa.

Let me see,

I'm a developer, who has a company, who wants to sell a software to a governamental market.

My software should manage and make transactions over the internet and as i said "manage" delicated data, it could be "very important" now, if something happens... like someone enter and hack all the damn thing...

What can save me from get in jail, or get sued...

Who has all the responsabilities for data loss?

Do i need to write an excuslive agreetment that all the software "seems to work" but doesn't asure that data can't be lost?

I want to know to were i can go using an agreetment and doesn't being sued or get in troubles.

Thanks in advice...

Diego Martin Lafuente
Tuesday, August 27, 2002

You need to talk to a lawyer in your country...

vern
Tuesday, August 27, 2002

Buy liability insurance, it's not that expensive.

Alberto
Wednesday, August 28, 2002

Read any licence agreement.

None of them even promise that that software will work, but if the CD is defective, they will ship you a new one.

Licenses specifically deny responsibility for any loss, of any type, for any reason, of any amount, to any parties.

Evan

If you're a professional you are ready to own up to your mistakes and repair or compensate any damages you cause. You might have an insurance to back you up financially, but you take responsibility.

But do make sure that you protect yourself from damages caused by circumstances beyond your control. Hint: failing software isn't, abuse is.

License agreements that reject all responsiblity are a cheap way out, and will last only as long as the general public or legislative organs accept them.

Erik

> Licenses specifically deny responsibility for any loss,
> of any type, for any reason, of any amount, to any
>  parties.