Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

C# vs VB.Net

Hello

Does anyone have any links to articles that discuss the merits of C# over VB.net or vice versa? (Or managed C++ for that matter.)

We have to make a decision at work as to which to use - a melange of two or three isn't going to be acceptable.

I myself have no real experience of either of them. My background is C++ with a slapdash of classical VB and VBA for knocking up test programs, automating spreadsheets etc. From the little I do know, C# sounds the better of the two, but that's more of a hunch than anything else. I couldn't make any kind of strong argument.

I'm open to VB: against C# is the fact that's it's a new language (and I feel we have enough new languages out there as it is), combined with the fact that going forward, we will have to continue to support Office-based solutions built around C++ COM addins/VBA automation. Given that we'll always have to know VBA and C++; why add C# into the equation? Surely it's the object models around .net that really matter?

I'm particularly interested in unbiased articles that discuss

Technical merits of the language
Productivity/Ease of use
Maintainability - does one language really lend itself to better coding practices over the other? can one language really help you to write "better" code?)
Projected market availability of programmers with expertise in the respective languages (now and in three years' time)

Any help you can give with this would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Bruce Heldon

Bruce Heldon
Monday, August 12, 2002

I think the big difference is C# works better with old code, I'm no VB head, but I think that there isn't much support for interop built in there (or any?). Other than that they are pretty similar.

Others will have more valuable and accurate input though.

Robin Debreuil
Monday, August 12, 2002

Don't have any specific links to offer, I'm afraid, and I'd love to see such links too!