Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Fool-proof web content management SW?

When will we finally get WYSIWYG web content editors for newbies?

Ever since I worked as a Lotus Notes admin, I've been looking at non-proprietary, preferable open-source solutions that let both newbies and power users contribute to knowledge databases. I really like Notes/Domino's support for WYSIWYG editing + support for disconnected mode (replication between client and server), but at the core, it's a proprietary tool, it's quite complicated to understand fully, and its customer support isn't very good.

I spent the past few weeks checking alternatives (different weblog softwares like GreyMatter, LiveJournal, UserLand, etc.; Zope; Twiki/Zwiki, etc.), but so far haven't found usable by non-power users and powerful enough to work on large documents.

I just signed up to participate in the beta testing of CityDesk. Hopefully, it avoids the classic error all those solutions made, and comes with a WYSIWYG, dedicated, OS-specific client so that working on document databases is as simple as working in eg. Word.

Its ubiquitousity notwithstanding, a web client just doesn't measure up with dedicated clients, and typing HTML tags is out of the question for newbies (and even power users when it comes to documents that are 100's of pages long like User's Manual, etc.)

Those curious of seeing what it's like creating contents in Notes can download free trials here:
http://www.notes.net/down.nsf/welcome

Am I the only one frustrated with the dearth of easy-to-use web content mgmt tools?

My ¥.2
FF.

Frederic Faure
Sunday, October 14, 2001

No! You're not the only one. It was this thought exactly that drove the development of CityDesk.

I think you're on target about Windows UIs. For non-trivial document editing tasks, you just can't build a good enough UI with HTML. I'll talk about that soon on Joel on Software.

Joel Spolsky
Sunday, October 14, 2001