Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

how to get respect from tech oriented employee

Hi all,

My background is Industrial Engineering. Due to reorg I've been assigned to head a "Business Solutions" team, which consists of business analyst and developers. Previously the developers are grouped into the "Development" team. And know I sense that sometimes they are sometimes underestimated me, because I don't have development background. What should I do to earn their respect?

non-techie
Sunday, August 04, 2002

Always be honest and open to their suggestions.

I had a manager once that was not technical, he always asked me to explain in simple terms what I thought was the best approach to a solution. He then played devils advocate and it went rather well. He never tried to "pretend" to know all the technical details. His trust and open-ness to learn and admit that he didnt know earnt my trust. In return I often tried harder to explain things and schedule them better.

Regs,

James Ladd
Sunday, August 04, 2002

Read "Peopleware"

Developer
Monday, August 05, 2002

Don't call them techies or make assumptions about their domain.

Don't expect bad breath and worse skin.

Don't be surprised if they are defensive,  they are used to non-technical people reinterpreting what they say into goo.

They are not pets, don't give them treats and expect them to do tricks for higher management.

Don't be surprised if they are female and then assume they are lesbian or are easy.

Recognise that you are in the way unless you take part in the process.

Don't mistake cynicism for lack of committment.

Don't keep secrets from them.

Simon Lucy
Monday, August 05, 2002

Like Joel says, your job is to make their's easier.

Demonstrate your role as thus, and the rest is 'noise'

tapiwa
Monday, August 05, 2002

Just let them do the job.

Evgeny Goldin
Monday, August 05, 2002