Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Books on Office Politics

Does anyone know any good books on how to master office politics?

As a fresh graduate I would like to avoid some common mistakes people are usually making when they first start out.

Something that explains the every-day-idiocy found in (large) companies and how to deal with it without becoming a borg-like drone or code grunt.

Thanks in advance ;-)

Dilbert
Sunday, August 04, 2002

Cubicle Warfare: Self-Defense Tactics for Today's Hypercompetitive Workplace .

This is very valuable. There are many  freaks out there with no life and a big agenda.

cj
Sunday, August 04, 2002

I hope you don't think this is too trite but "How to Win Friends and Influence People" is still an easy to read classic.  Relationship and business gurus have been rewriting that book for 50 years.

Office politics are the same everywhere: at the office, in your neighborhood association, in the PTA, or your favorite non-profit because human nature is the same everywhere.

My humble opinion is that programming work can prevent you from developing people skills.  If I can butcher a quote about Jack Northrop, the aviation pioneer: "A great engineer, a great manager, a great people person."

tk
Sunday, August 04, 2002

Here's a list of books you might find helpful:

Bernstein & Rozen; "Dinosaur brains: dealing with all those impossible people at work"

Bernstein & Rozen; "Neanderthalls as work: how people and politics can drive you crazy..."

DuBrin, Andrew J. "Winning at Office Politics"

Also try:

Brinkman & Kirscher; "Dealing with People You Cant' Stand"

Cialdini, Robert; "Influence, The Psychology of Persuasion"

Tom Dratler
Sunday, August 04, 2002

Try "The Prince" by Nicolo Machiavelli

Substitute "mercenary" to consultant, "Prince" to manager etc.

Joachim Hartmann
Monday, August 05, 2002

Dilbert,