Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

CLARION

hi everyone! What do you think of clarion programming language from softvelocity? How do you compare it with vb?

justasking

just asking
Saturday, August 03, 2002

I think that you will receive a lot of... "I don't know because I never heard of it". :-)

I think Clarion is a very good and productive tool for building database applications. If you want to build a database application, for internal use (I still not use the ASP deployment)... Clarion is the way to go.

sglez
Monday, August 05, 2002

intesesting to consider what happned to all those early cleient/server leaders like powerbuilder, clarion, foxpro

It seems that M$ just can not kill visual foxpro.

what other products do you put in this category?

Karel
Monday, August 05, 2002

I second sglez's opinion.

Ricardo Antunes da Costa
Monday, August 05, 2002

Well, FoxPro is not dead...but no new developers, and no new applications does spell a slow death (and I was a FoxPro developer at one time!).

As for Clarion?

Clarion is a product that I have not used, but seen run.

It has some things going for it, such as a real ease to “distribute” the resulting application. The results are small, and can be distributed royalty free. In addition, it does have some thin client stuff available to allow use across the web. Again this is way cool.

I am not sure how extensible and how good of a programming language environment that Clarion has, but it does produce small exe’s.