Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Windows Application Development

After reading "Working on CityDesk, Part Three" I can't decide what would be better for developing a Windows GUI application: C#, VB, or VB.NET?

I'm a pretty experienced Perl developer (but I don't have any experience with any Microsoftish languages) and I want to learn how to develop Windows GUI applications but don't know enough about the differences/weaknesses/advantages between C#, VB, or VB.NET.
After working with languages like Perl/JavaScript I really don't want to get messy with stuff like MFC/C++.

Any suggestions/recommendations?

Guy Malachi
Wednesday, July 31, 2002

The easiest path is to learn VB (version 6), as a bonus you get VBA (Office VB) for free. The down side is that VB6 is being replaced by VB.NET (future OfficeXX will use VBA and not .NET, or so I've been told by little elves)

Also I should mention that VB.NET is somewhat more difficult to learn than VB6.

C# vs VB.NET is really a matter of taste, it's just a set of syntax that later on is turned into IL code. Either one will do.

I'd go with VB6.

Joachim Hartmann
Wednesday, July 31, 2002

I wouldn't go with VB6, although MS have said they will support it until 2008 it really is obsolete now. Demand for skills in it will only decrease in the future.

With the huge runtime and lack of support for Win95 .Net doesn't look that favourable for shrinkwrap desktop applications.

Why not look at Delphi?

Tony E (Not a Delphi programmer)
Wednesday, July 31, 2002

Delphi?
I know even less about Delphi than I know about VB.

I assume that VB.Net with become more popular in the future and the transition from VB to VB.Net will probably be pretty smooth (I'm assuming here).

So even though VB is becoming less popular wouldn't it be a good starting point?

Guy Malachi
Wednesday, July 31, 2002

VC++ was the de-facto standard; until (and IF) C# picks up the market, VC++ will still be what hard-core programmers program in.