Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Really, how good is MS Access for web

I am a programmer just starting out on web development. I am just wondering how good  MS Access is for the backend. I am developing sites in VBScript and ASP.

But I seem to hear that Access crashes very often and cannot support multiuser environment stuff very well. I know MS SQL server is a better choice but none of my customers can afford the cost.

Please let me know your experinces with Access as a backend. I really appreaciate all feedbacks etc. Thanks.

suhu
Friday, July 26, 2002

You should determine this project's particular technology needs before you start deciding what technology is "good" or "bad". 

How many database tables do you expect to have?
How large do you expect your tables to get?
What types of queries do you need to execute?
What is the load you expect your website to handle?
Will most of your web traffic result in DB queries?
As far as multi-user concerns, look into connection pooling via ASP, and see if that handles your requirements.
etc etc etc

Also, this does not have to be a big concern right now.  Make sure you code to proper ODBC/ADO/ANSI-SQL  (or whatever the latest data access buzzword is)  As long as it's generic SQL, when you switch backends, you'll simply change your param file with the new database specs, and be in business.

Good luck.

Bella
Saturday, July 27, 2002

I have only seen Access crash when someone does something stupid(Cartesian Product, Text Search on an unindexed field witha million plus rows, etc...) make sure your program doesn't do this, and you should be ok.

Here is the real key question:

do you want/need business logic on the DBMS, why because if you dont, your answer is mySQL, but if you do go with Access.

The big limitiation for access is not types, or tables but concurrent connections, and data locks!