Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Meeting Time

Ok, I have a question.... How many hours out of your week do you spend in meetings?  I am just shocked at how many meetings I am invited to  (and must go to).  On a good week, I have at a minimum 5 hours of meetings.  That is 1/8th of my week.  On a bad week though (like this one) I think my meetings will come in at about 12-15 hours.  That is almost a third of my week in meetings.  I have been with this company since I graduated from college so this is all that I know.  Everyone outside is shocked at the amount of meetings we have here. 
Oh and if there is some sort of "major issue" they require daily meetings.  We have a theory around here.... promotions and salary increases are directy proportional to the amount of daily meetings you have.
Granted I am the tech lead on my procjet and I know I should be attending some meetings, but doesn't that seem ridiculous?  Does anyone have any advice?

Thanks
Matt

Matt Watson
Tuesday, July 16, 2002

Sounds to me like you think these meetings are a waste of time.  Have you talked separately to the meeting chairperson(s) about this?  Try suggesting something like you attend every second meeting, and send an email update to the chairperson for the meetings you skip.

The amount of time spent in meetings would obviously relate to the amount of projects you are working on.

Speak to your manager.  Your productivity could be being harmed, which would affect your annual review. :-)

Scott B
Tuesday, July 16, 2002

> How many hours out of your week do you spend in meetings?

At the moment it is an average of about 4 hrs/week for me. It used to be less than this, but at the moment we are having some major changes to our software as well as to our development process and I took over some QA responsibilities, too. (Normally I am just a programming grunt)