Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

XML

Unfortunalty I'm no expert in this field, however I sent an article about XML to a expert in this field and this is the result of that discussion. Could anyone inlighten me on this.

Dear Nigel,

Thank you for sharing the CityDesk article with me. I have a couple of issues with what this gentleman says which I hope should clarify my vision.

i) He's right in that you cannot write a good UI for a browser - when that UI is for feature rich text editing. But you can write a good UI for forms and other controlled data capture. Since we do not wish to encourage 'War and Peace' in comment fields we shouldn't have a problem here. Nevertheless, you can deploy Word and similar applications via a browser. These 'web enabled' applications share much the same UI as that of the original application. You are familiar with this concept from the use of such tools as Citrix.

iii) He's right in that XML is not a good mechanism for storing data. Anybody who suggests it should be put to that use is clearly deranged. At the moment an RDB is the only way. However, XML is an excellent mechanism for framing the transport of data, facilitating the messaging concept within the object-oriented paradigm. It is this feature, which helps separate the reliance of the client side software on the underlying RDB which needs to be exploited.

If we say that our objective is to deploy all applications over the browser, this does not preclude us from using existing applications (we web-enable them), or the Relational Database.