Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Good Documentation of C++ Standard Library

I'm a programmer making a transition from Java to C++. I really like the power that I have with C++ to do low-level system stuff. And I really appreciate the ability to work with pointers and references. I'm not having any trouble with these concepts. In fact, they have come to me quite easily.

What drives me bananas is that the entire c++ standard library is composed of obscure abbreviations and bizarre uses of operator overloading. Consequently, it's very hard for me to read c++ code. I'm used to Java's standard libraries, and I would much rather refer to a "FileOutputStream" than to a "ofstream".

So, what I'm looking for is some really good documentation (preferable in HTML format) that gives all of the details of the standard library. Ideally, it should have the names of classes, the header files that need to be included for those classes, the names of classes that the class inherits from, all properties in the class (or inherited from and other class), and the prototypes of all functions in this class (or inherited from other classes).

In short, what I'm looking for is a JavaDoc for the c++ stdlib. I've spent a few hours googling around looking for something, but without much luck. The closest thing I've found is a set of documents from dinkumware ( http://www.dinkumware.com ). These are reproduced in the msdn vc++ documentation at http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/vclang98/HTML/stdlbhm.asp .

This set of documents shows all of the header files and lists a few details about implementation, but they assume quite a bit of existing knowledge. For example, the page for "cin" lists only the following information:

The object controls extractions from the standard input as a byte stream. Once the object is constructed, the call cin.tie() returns &cout.