Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Learning to communicate graphically

I have been coding in one form or another for many years, and  for almost all that time I've been doing so by myself. (Only programmer in small company, etc.) Now I'm working with other programmers taking a lead design and programming role and find it necessary to communicate graphically. Diagrams, flow charts, sequence diagrams, use cases -- whatever is needed to teach people about an existing system as well as talk about new design ideas.

Unfortunately, I've found that I'm quite bad at it. I tend to think in code rather than diagrams, and "know" relationships much better than I can explain them. I feel this is partly a brain wiring thing -- some people are simply better at expressing ideas graphically -- but also that with practice I could reach a useful level.

So the question then becomes: how? Have you used any resources that you've found helpful in how you think about this sort of graphical communication?

Chris Winters
Monday, April 29, 2002

Try "Drawing on the Right side of the brain".
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0874774241/qid=1020108409/sr=8-1/ref=sr_8_71_1/104-0076503-5850311

Doug Withau
Monday, April 29, 2002

While Drawing on the Right Side of the brain is a wonderful book, I am not sure it is appropriate for this application.

UML is probably the most talked about from of code communication via picatures going.  I personally find it usefull, expecially Object diagrams, Use Cases, and Object diagrams, in that order.

There is a UML in a nutshell book from O'Reilly that will be handy.

Of course, all this implies an Object oriented Background. 

For Non OO diagraming, code is probably as good as flowcharts to communicate an idea.

Entity Relationship Diagrams are the standard for Database work.  UML will still help at the packaging level (which code blocks are within which DLL)

Adam
Monday, April 29, 2002

> whatever is needed to teach people about an existing system