Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Handling the telephone

I thought the community might be interested in reading an email I sent to a colleague recently.

The recipient had called me earlier in the day, and was surprised when I mentioned the fact that I was at my desk and had missed the call because I was ignoring the telephone. It wasn't one of my more diplomatic comments.

At the end of the day, I took time out to write a more lengthy email. I might be in for flames, I'll find out tomorrow.

Here's my explanation:

I'm sorry that earlier today I didn't have very much time to give you a more detailed explanation of how I manage the telephone that is at my desk.

As you may know, I am a programmer here. My job is to think 80% of the time and communicate 20% of the time. In the past I have had other jobs, such as managing large teams. In some of those jobs, my job was to think 20% of the time and communicate 80% of the time.

The trouble with thinking is that there's a big cost to 'context switching': you start working out a problem, the telephone rings, and when you get off the phone you have to start all over again.

One of the reasons top programmers are such night owls is that there are many fewer interruptions after regular business hours. I'm writing this after 8PM, and I can tell you I've gotten more programming done after 5PM today than I did before 5PM.

So here I am at my desk and it seems every few minutes my telephone shouts out that someone I've never heard of, who works in another office, needs to pick up a parked call. Is it any wonder that I've hacked my phone so it is as quiet as possible and in addition I keep a handy set of earplugs for when I really need to get something done?