Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

The best of two goodies...

Hi all, just want to let you guys know that i recently started exploring a combination which turns out to be a 'killer-combo'

Delphi & Python

I really love both languages and combining them is just great and very easy to accomplish. Python has some nice GUI-toolkits but they 'fade' away compared to the perfect Delphi IDE. I can now use Delphi to build a robust GUI and design a complete class-framework in Python in no-time. It only requires 1 extra DLL-file for distribution. That's it.

Really, I reccomend it very much and am still really excited about it's possibilities.

check it out:

http://membres.lycos.fr/marat/delphi/python.htm
http://www.atug.com/andypatterns/pythonDelphiTalk.htm

Do you guys&girls have any experience with these kind of combinations?

Guyon
Wednesday, November 20, 2002

Looks cool.

Will the Dlls allow Python scripting in Delphi apps, like Jython does for Java?

Ged Byrne

i have no experience with Jython or JAVA so i can't really tell you that. I am also just strating with it.

But you can _easily_ instantiate Python classes in Delphi with the help of a 'Variant' type.:

var
  Module, Class : Variant;

begin
Module := Import('myModule.py');
Class := Module.myClass()

Class.doAnyOperation();
end;

dead simple :)

Guyon

I don't know much about Python, but why you reserve Delphi only for the presentation ?

Having developped a lot in Delphi (years ago), the Pascal Object seems good enough any OO development for any domain.

Can you precise what you consider a killer feature of Python you need and couldn't do with Delphi ?

Robert Chevallier

Sure, I'll have to admit it's 'preference' kind of thing ;)