Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Purchase this forum?

Does Joel sell this forum?  (Or, more precisely, the ASP source code to it?)  I want to use it as a support forum for my business.  It seems to work really well.

Trent
Thursday, August 12, 2004

I don't know, it is simplistic and very functional though.

I bet if he does sell it, he'd add some features more specific to a support forum if the money were right.

not-so-anon

purchase?  Are you not a programmer?  It would be a trivial effort to reproduce this exact forum from scratch.

muppet

What features do support forums have that this forum doesn't have?  (Is there such a thing as specific support forum software?)

Trent

I am not a programmer.  I know a little VB but that is all.

Trent

> it is simplistic

Okay, originally it may be simple, perhaps the administrative features has been kept usable and not a lot of frills was added for no good reason, I wouldn't say it's simplistic.

They have had to write logic to handle trolls, bots, racists, language astronauts ("you don't use python? you must be dumb!!"), dumb asses (me included) and spammers. This thing had to work even if the entire company was enjoying a nice italian dinner into the wee hours in Venice.

Li-fan Chen

+++They have had to write logic to handle trolls, bots, racists, language astronauts ("you don't use python? you must be dumb!!"), dumb asses (me included) and spammers. This thing had to work even if the entire company was enjoying a nice italian dinner into the wee hours in Venice.+++

err... I haven't noticed any logic filters on this forum.

muppet

Dave B, who was/is a regular here, reproduced this forum and had the source available at http://www.sswltd.com
But it's not available any more. You might be able to get his contact information by searching here and you can ask him for a copy.

Anon

There's also a PHP clone at JohnsAdventures.com.

www.MarkTAW.com