Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

ADO.NET & Foreign Text

I'm a bit of a newbie to internationalization of apps, so bear with me. An Sql Server 2000 table for our website has a "text" field (not "ntext"), where our users insert content in various languages (Korean and Chinese are popular). In regular old ASP/ADO, I'd select and write the data, and it would render just fine in a web browser.

Now as I convert our website to ASP.NET/ADO.NET, selecting the same field returns garbage to the web browser. I'd like to know a way around this; a way to exhibit the same behavior as in regular ASP.

I imagine this is due to the fact that .NET is in Unicode, and the "text" field is not.  Changing the field to "ntext" might help, but unfortunately, this is currently not an option.  Any suggestions?

Monsur
Wednesday, December 11, 2002

How are you rendering it?... Databinding? Response.Write()?

Duncan Smart
Wednesday, December 11, 2002

rendering using Response.Write

Monsur
Thursday, December 12, 2002

Actually, thinking about it  that shouldn't make a difference.
Maybe the browser is mangling it becasue of incorrect codepage recognition...
Look into the CodePage attribute of the <%@ Page %> directive: http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/en-us/cpgenref/html/cpconpage.asp

There's a table of code pages here:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/workshop/author/dhtml/reference/charsets/charset4.asp

You can also set it programmatically with Response.CodePage.

Duncan Smart
Thursday, December 12, 2002

Thanks Duncan for the CodePage tip.  Unfortunately, that didn't work.