Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

where to start

Hi guys,
Forgive me for using high-level minds for such a question, but I'm trying to find my way quick. I'm a longtime client/server developer. I want to get familiar with .Net but the Microsoft/download site does not give me a clear "start with this software" for setting up. I set .Net server, .Net framework, .Net Visual studio, etc. Can anyone give me a shopping list for setting up a local/personal environment for doing basic intro development with .Net? I have MSSQL Server 7 set up for the database side. Get me oriented please. Any at-work development I may end up doing would be web front-ends against Sybase/SQL Server. Thanks much,
j.thomas, L.A. CA

john p. thomas
Monday, November 04, 2002

Find the Dotnet SDD, download it, and install it.  I'd go buy textpad, (or whatever text editor you like), and start following one of their quickstart guides.  The SDK has a couple sample applications, a ton of useful code snipets and a ton of other cool stuff.
  It comes with the free C# and VB.net compiler.  This should be enough to get you started and then some.

Vincent Marquez

If you want to develop web front-ends with .net, go to http://www.asp.net and look at their tutorials. That's one way to get started with the .NET framework.

There's even a free IDE to download for writing asp.net applications.

Big B

Some thoughts:

1) The .NET Framework SDK does indeed have everything you need to get started with .NET, including the command-line compilers and a set of Quickstart Tutorials. However, one warning: installing the tutorials is going to require installing MSDE 2000, which could cause problems with your SQL Server installation.

2) While you *can* get started from the command-line compilers, for serious development you're going to find the VS .NET IDE well worth the money. $100 will get you in at the basic level.