Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

Multithreading design question

I'm new to writing multithreaded apps and I have a design question.  I have a winforms app and a class which has a method that does processing which is time intensive.  I want the user to be able to kick off the process and continue to work in the appliaction while getting progress updates and the ability to cancel.  The method that seems easiest to me is this:

The class exposes certain events for progress. Start, ProgressUpdate, and End.  Create an EventArgs class for passing data to the handlers.  The form has an instance of this class with handlers for these events.  When the user clicks go, a new thread kicks off that calls the method on the class to do processing. 
The method in the class raises the events at the appropriate time.  The ui thread traps those events and updates the UI accordingly.  The processing method in the class checks a variable after each chunk of processing to see if the user wants to cancel and raises the ProgressUpdate event.  If the user clicks cancel in the form, the cancel member of the class instance is set to indicate the user's request and execution ends after the latest chunck of processing is complete.

Since I'm new to multithreading, I'm unsure if this is a decent way to make everything work.  Is this a solid design or am I commiting horrible crimes against the multithreading gods?

Paul Dix
Wednesday, June 22, 2005

==>Is this a solid design or am I commiting horrible crimes against the multithreading gods?

Can't answer to that. I'm atheist and don't know of these "multithreading gods" <grin>.

I'm fairly new to multi-threading -- just started about 4 months ago on a new project. What you outline is effectively the way we do it (with some minor differences), and we're having no problems. There are 2 caveats I'd like you to be aware of, though: